1995: Hendrick Motorsports’ first championship

Jeff Gordon earned the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship in 1995, marking the first for him and Hendrick Motorsports. In just his third full season of Cup competition, Gordon recorded seven wins, 17 top-five finishes, 23 top-10s and eight pole positions to finish first in the standings, 34 points ahead of the great Dale Earnhardt.

Related Content