2012: All four Hendrick teammates qualify for Chase

All four Hendrick Motorsports teammates qualified for the 2012 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup in dramatic fashion with Kasey Kahne and Jeff Gordon securing wild card berths in the final race of the regular season. Gordon took runner-up honors in the Sept. 8, 2012, event at Richmond (Va.) International Raceway to earn his bid for the postseason. Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Jimmie Johnson qualified for the 10-race playoff two weeks prior to the Richmond event, which wrapped up the 26-race regular season. The 2012 season marked the first time in which all four Hendrick Motorsports drivers qualified for the Chase, which was implemented in 2004. The organization's best overall team finish was a one-two-three result in 2009 with Johnson winning his fourth NASCAR Sprint Cup title, Mark Martin finishing second and Jeff Gordon taking third.